History and Nature 아이콘

History and Nature

Welcome sokcho English


The oldest record that confirms the name of Sokcho for the first time goes back to Sejongsillok Jiriji, a map made in the 2th year of King Danjong in 1454, in the Joseon (Choson) period. In the Joseon period, Sokcho was a district, called Sokcho-ri, Socheon-myeon, Yangyang-dohobu.
The Present distict of Sokcho-Si was the parts of Socheon-myeon and Domun-myeon in Yangyang-dohobu in the Joseon period.
Prehistoric  times B.C. 1000 Formed the  early Bronze Age
  Prehistoric  people lived (Found dwellings of the blue dagger period and artifacts:  Joyang-dong, Jangsa-dong, Domun-dong)
Ancient times 551(?) In  the 12th year of King Jinheung in the Silla period, it was included into  Silla from Goguryeo
757 Ingnyeonghyeon,  the 16th year of King Gyeongdeok of Silla

Middle ages 


995 Ingnyeonghyeon,  Sanbang-do, the 14th year of Seongjong
1036 Ingnyeonghyeon,  Donggye the 9th year of Jeongion
1221 Elevated  to Yangju from Ingnyeonghyeon, the 8the year of Gojong
1257 Relegated  to Deongnyeong-gammu from Yangju, the 44th year of King Gojong
1260 Reiterated  to Yangju from Deongnyeong-gammu, the first year of King Wonjong
Recent modern times (Joseon) 1397 Yangju  was elevated to Yangju Bu, the 6th year of King Taejo
1413 Changed  from Yangju-bu to Yangju-dohobu, the 13th year of Taejong
1416 Changed  from Yangju-dohobu to Yangyang-dohobu, the 16th year of Taejong
1618 Relegated  to Yangyanghyeon, the 10th year of Gwanghae-gun
1623 Reiterated  to Yangyangdohobu, the first year of Injo
1688 Relegated  to Yangyanghyeon, the 14th year of Sukjong
1697 Reiterated  to Yangyangdohobu, the 23th year of Sukjong
1783 Relegated  to Yangyanghyeon, the 7th year of Jeongjo
1792 Reiterated  to Yangyangdohobu, the 16th year of Jongjo
1895 Changed  from Yangju-dohobu to Yangyang-gun, the 32th year of Gojong
Modern times (1910~1950) March  1,1914 12  Myeons of Yangyang-gun were rearranged into 7 myeons as follows. There were  Seo-myeon, Hyeonbuk-myeon, and Hyeonnam-myeon. Gunnae-myeon (Bunae-myeon),  Bunam-myeon, Wisan-myeon were included into Yanguang-myeon; Dong-myeon, Nam  -myeon were rearranged into Sonnyang-myeon; Gangseon-myeon and Sahyeon-myeon  were into Ganghyeon-myeon; and Domun-myeon and Socheon-myeon were into  Docheon-myeon; (Ganseong-gun and Goseong-gun were merged into Ganseong-gun)
1919 Ganseong-gun was renamed  as Goseong-gun
July 1,1937 Toseong-myeon  and Jukwang-myeon were included into Yangyang-gun. Docheon-myeon was renamed  as Sokcho-myeon. (Myeon office moved from Daepo-ri to Sokcho-ri)
October 1,1942 Sokcho-myeon  was elevated to Eup. (Ordinance No.104)
August 24,1945 Under  the communist rule
Modern Times (1950~2000) January  8,1951 Revived  as Eup, under the military authority, as the South Korean soldiers moved into  it.
October 21,1954 Sokcho-eup,  Yangyang-gun (Legislation No.350)
November 17,1954 Transferred  to democratic rule
January 1,1963 Elevated  to a Si(city) from Sokcho-eup (Legislation No 1176)
July 1,1973 13  Dongs as Jangcheon-ri and Sajin-ri Toseong-myeon Goseong-gun were included into  Jangsa-dong (Presidential decree No.6542)
February 15,1983 As  parts of Yangyang-gun, Ganghyeon-myeon, Sangbok-ri were included into  Seorak-dong, the number of legal Dong is 14, and 13 administrative dongs)  (Presidential decree No 11027)
April 1,1990 Sajin-dong,  Jangcheon-dong, which are legal dong were  incorporated into Jangsa-dong (Legal dongs: 13, Administrative dongs: 13)  (Municipal ordinance No.1293)
October 17,1998 Through  integration, the number of administrative Dongs was reduced from 13 to 8. As  of late, the number of legal Dongs is 13; the number of administrative dongs  is 8 (Municipal ordinance No.1657)

Details of integration of administrative Dongs

  • Yeongnang-dong and Jangsa-dong are integrated into Yeongnang-dong
  • Jungang-dong and Geumho-dong are into Geumho-dong
  • Parts of Cheonghak-dong and a part of  Gyo-dong are into Gyo-dong
  • Parts of Nohak-dong and a part of  Gyo-dong are into Nohak-dong
  • Parts of Cheongho-dong and Joyang-dong are into Cheongho-dong
  • Parts of Daepo-dong, Domun-dong, and Seorak-dong are into Daepo-dong

Details of integration of administrative Dongs

Category 1962 1994 (Before self-governing) 2002 2003
Population 50,703  persons 78,622  persons 90,029  persons 89,047  persons
Household 10.464  Households 24,414  Households 33,258  Households 33,848  Households
Budget 25  million Won 67,500  million Won 146,700  million Won 160,700  million Won
Houses - 19,561  dong 31,460  dong 30,495  dong
Car 92  cars 13,132  cars 26,848  cars 27,598  cars
Road  extension 47.1 91.13 115.4 241.8
Water  pipe 2T/D 41T/D 49T/D 49T/D
Education  facilities 12 36 34 35
Nurseries - 14 74 80
Medical  institutions 19 54 92 95
Accommodation  facilities 44 231 249 236
만족도 조사